Take a look at our undergraduate course list to see what we have to offer - pop along to our next open day to find out more.

Register of Interests of Governors 2016/17

This register is maintained by the Clerk to the Board of Governors.

In order to ensure proper conduct of public business and in line with CUC Guidance Institutions are required to maintain and make publicly available a register of interests of all members of the governing body, the Clerk to the Board and Senior Officers associated with the work of the governing body. On an annual basis Governors, the Clerk and Senior Officers closely associated with the work of the governing body are invited to declare any interests which might conflict with the interests of the University or which they otherwise wish to declare.

This register includes declarations received up to October 5, 2016


Name                                        Interest declared 
Mr Neil Ashbridge

Non-Executive Director: Cartrefi Conwy
Vice Chair: Disability Wales
Member: Liverpool Cathedral Finance Committee
Member: Liverpool University Management School Advisory Board
Member: Liverpool Hope University Executive Advisory Board
Oxford University Business Economics Programme Advisory Board
Member: Welsh Industrial Development Advisory Board
Director: Board of the West Cheshire and North Wales Chamber of Commerce
Chairman of the Liverpool Chamber of Commerce (Dec 2016)

Mr Paul Barlow

Employed: DTCC Europe

Director: Avox Limited, Wrexham (wholly owned subsidiary of DTCC)

Mrs Val Butterworth MBA** Parent Governor: Castell Alun High School, Hope  
Mr Travis Davies Elected Vice President of the Students’ Union  
Mrs Joanne Corless Senior Assistant Registrar, Partnerships and Quality - Glyndwr University  
Mrs Celia Jenkins Employed: Hacker UHY Hacker Young
Trustee: Bwrdd Glandŵr Cymru (Canal and River Trust, Wales Advisory Board)
Member: Executive Committee of the League of Friends Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Foundation Trust Hospital
Deputy Chair of the North East Wales Magistrates’ Bench (April 2017)
Chair of the North East Wales Magistrates’ Youth Panel (April 2017)
Member: Wrexham Youth Justice Management Board
Spouse: Member of Council Chester University
Spouse: Board member Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod
Mr Barrie Jones

Editorial Director: NWN Media, Mold
Director: Society of Editors, Cambridge

Professor Sandra Jowett

Vice Chair: National Open College Network
Non-Executive Director: Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
Emeritus Professor: University of Cumbria
Son: employed KPMG, London

Mrs Emily Karim Elected President of the Students’ Union  
Mrs Gill Kreft

Director and Shareholder: Pendine Park Care Organisation Ltd

Director and Shareholder: Grosvenor Living Ltd (subsidiary of PPCO)

Director: Pendine Park Independent Living Ltd

Director: DSB Disclosure Services Ltd (subsidiary of PPIL Ltd)

Director: Gwarchod Property Ltd

Trustee: Voluntary body Wrexham Business Professionals and Social Care Institute of Excellence

Voluntary/Honorary roles: The Academy of Care Practitioners Ltd; Care Forum Wales; Care Forum Wales Awards Ltd 

Fellow: ICA in England and Wales

Mrs Rebecca Maxwell Employed: Denbighshire County Council
Advisor to North Wales Economic Ambition Board
Lead Officer for Infrastructure and Transport
Mr Tim Mitchell* Director McLintocks Wrexham
Director and minority owner of the newly formed North Wales Crusaders Rugby League team based at the Glyndwr University Racecourse Stadium in Wrexham
Honorary Secretary of the Chester & North Wales Society of Chartered Accountants
Member of the Wrexham POETS BNI Chapter
Member of the Federation of Small Businesses (FSB)
Member of Wrexham Round Table No 305.
Mrs Judy Owen Trustee/Director: St Kentigern Hospice
Members; CIMA
Mrs Emma Perrin* Director and Shareholder: Guy Walmsley Ltd, Wrexham
Trustee: Wrexham Glyndŵr Students Union Ltd
Members: ACCA
Affiliate member: ICAEN
Spouse: Quality Manager, Airbus Operations, Broughton
Mrs Maxine Penlington

Chair: Birmingham City University Academies Trust

Mr Paul McGrady Employed: Cartrefi Cymunedd Housing Association
Member: CIPFA
Independent Director: NEW Homes
Professor Norman Sharp OBE Chair: Icelandic Quality Board for Higher Education
Chair: SparQS (Student Participation in Quality, Scotland)
Member: Ministry of Education (Luxembourg) Advisory Board on Quality in Higher Education
Member: OU in Scotland Advisory Board
Governor: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Mr Phil Storrow

Head of Academic School, Glyndŵr University
Director: Optic Glyndwr Ltd
Director: Glyndwr Innovations Ltd
Trustee: Chester Childbirth Appeal
Members; RAES
Associate member IMechE

Mr Askar Sheibani Group Chief Executive Officer: Comtek Network Systems UK Ltd
Director: Deeside Business Forum Ltd, Sorrento Networks Ltd, Barnwood Management Ltd
Shareholder: Comtek Networks Ltd, Sorrento Networks Ltd, Barnwood Management Ltd
Member: Alyn and Deeside Constituency Labour Party
Mr David Subacchi

Justice of the Peace (Chairman of Denbighshire Magistrates) (Voluntary)Local Authority governor for Ysgol Morgan Llwyd, Wrexham (Voluntary)
Foundation governor for St Mary's RC School, Wrexham (Voluntary)Member: Valuation Tribunal for Wales (Voluntary)
Member: Board of RICS Wales (Professional Body)
Member: North Wales Executive Committee of IRRV (Professional Body)
Member: Council of the Magistrates Association (Professional Body)
Wife: Chair of Offa Community Council and associated committees, Wrexham.

Dr Colin Stuhlfelder

Senior Lecturer Built Environment, Glyndwr University
Board member: Riverside Mersey North Housing Provider
Chartered member: Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (MCIAT)

Brian Everett***

Director: BevereHConsulting
Trustee: Citizens Advice Bureau

Vincent Ryan****

Employment Judge, Ministry of Justice
Trustee and Chair: Charles Lloyd Foundation
Chair: Wrexham RC Diocesan Safeguarding Commission


* Co-opted member of Audit Committee

** Clerk to the Board of Governors

*** Co-opted member of the HR Committee

****Co-opted member of the Nominations and Governance Committee